“Real Rest”?


“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me;
for I am meek and lowly in heart:
and ye shall find rest unto your souls.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
-Matthew 11:28-30 (KJV)

Matthew 11:28-30. And He will give me rest. Rest that is not like any other, but in Christ, there is real rest. I know, I’m still struggling trying to see that light – that with Jesus, there is nothing heavy or ill-fitting, but it’s all light, free, and unforced. It’s difficult ain’t it? All these voices in your head, these lies you’ve believed in, this pressure, the influence, the cycle of being better… it sort of leads us far away from the promise of Jesus that he’ll show us how to take a “real rest”.

It’s kind of hard, when everyone else doesn’t seem to see the same views on what you think about life and especially if you don’t have the guts to stomp negativism and all the world’s misconceptions and it creeps right into you, and in the end, you get distracted from Christ’s promises and offers, and eventually wouldn’t come to experience what a “real rest” would mean.

I’m not there yet. I haven’t experienced that peace, that lightness, that real freedom, of what it means to be in Christ. But I need it. This world has nothing to offer me, nothing to satisfy me, and I’ve known and realized that. and Christ is the only Way… He will find me. He won’t stop until I get to where He wants me to be.

I’m the Father’s son and it wouldn’t hurt to trust in such an amazing love. I know my Father will never let go until I am acquainted with the comfort of His arms wrapped around me, and He’s there, whispering in my ear, saying “Everything will be okay.”

8 thoughts on ““Real Rest”?

  1. That “Message” is not a “translation” of the Bible at all – it is a loose paraphrase. Jesus said man lives “by every word of God.” (Luke 4:4). That’s why you need to read and believe the King James Bible – it is God’s actual words in English. (See, the materials by Riplinger and Chick Publications on the Bible version issue.)
    The correct reading:
    Matthew 11:28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

    • I have not read the entire “The Message” bible, but as far as I know, its paraphrases are still well made, and I don’t see anything wrong with the translation of the said verse. But I will keep that in mind. Anyway, thanks for dropping a comment.

  2. tobeforgiven says:

    I believe God love you unconditionally as well. Thank you, and please continue writing. Dont stop speaking what you know to be true. That Chist is the savior of ALL mankind, to those who turn to him.

Please let me hear your thoughts. (via comment)

