Sleeping In


Nevertheless is one of my favorite bands. Their music could just relate to me. One of their songs I could relate to is entitled ‘Sleeping In’. Here are the lyrics:

I’ve been sleeping in for days,
‘Cause when I am awake,
I will have to face my life.
And I’m hoping it’s a phase.
The walls that I create
Can only make it seem alright.
And I get carried away like I’m the only one
Who’s ever felt the way that I do,
But I can hear You say, “You’re not the only one.
Everybody hopes to get through.”

And it’s got me sleeping in.
Everyday, God, it’s the same thing.
Yeah, you caught me sleeping in.
I’m still hiding; I’m still waiting.
I need you here with me to face the world outside
‘Cause I’m tired of sleeping in.

I’ve been waking up with fear,
‘Cause all that I can hear
Is the ringing of alarms downtown.
It’s been going on for years,
But you have made it clear
That I am not alone in this crowd.
And I get carried away like I’m the only one
Who’s ever felt the way that I do,
But I can hear you say, “You’re not the only one.
Everybody hopes to get through.”

Open up my eyes.
I’m tired of sleeping in
In a world that’s dying to wake up.

My Comments: Sometimes, for me, life is quite difficult and pressuring. At times, I just want to sleep in, ignore everything, keep it all in…I feel so weak and I couldn’t face life because of how unprepared I seem to be.  I am hiding a lot of things – lies, truth, stuff like that. The walls that I create, can only make it seem alright.

It’s as if I’m the only one who’s feeling like this. It’s as if I’m the only one who’s not alright, and everyone else is feeling fine. They look fine to me. They live and breathe nice to me. They seem to put up their acts well, but that’s not the case for me.

“You’re not the only one, everybody hopes to get through.”

I’m not alone with these thought. I’m not alone in this crowd.

But it’s all so hard… I need God. So I can face the world outside. I need His help.

2 thoughts on “Sleeping In

Please let me hear your thoughts. (via comment)

