“Really Satisfy”?


“Satisfaction. We want it. We run after it.  And yet, somehow it always seems to elude us. What’s our problem? What went wrong?”

Mike Donehey, lead singer of Tenth Avenue North, puts it this way in one of his journal entries. I find it true… those words that he said about being satisfied. I know full well what it means. We’re searching for something more…something that will fill us and satisfy us each day. But the truth remains….we’re never satisfied.

Mike points out that we have to come to terms with the fact that we’re not home yet. And I agree…most of us just seem to get so attached to what this world offers us.

I quote more of his words in the journal:

We have this canyon inside us and it’s so big, that try as we may to throw facebook and myspace and twitter and Twilight and romance pebbles in there, it just won’t get full. Consider Augustine’s words with me for a moment. “Our hearts are made for Thee O God, and our hearts are restless until they rest in Thee.”  Do you know that? Do you know that your heart is too big for this world? Have you rested in God as the source of your heart’s longing? Or are you still clinging to the lie that your soul is small enough to be satisfied by this world? Have you considered Moses’ prayer in Psalm 90, “Satisfy me in the morning with your unfailing love?”

Sometimes, I just think that achieving a lot of things in this world, or receiving a lot of page views, or being successful…or just living the rich life will give me all that I’ve ever wanted. Yes, I may have what I want…but…then it’s not going to work. I need to rest in God as the source of my heart’s longing. I need to stop searching in the wrong places.

More details here in Mike’s journal:
Tenth Avenue North: Journal – Satisfy

Tenth Avenue North performing their song ‘Satisfy’:
Satisfy – Tenth Avenue North

Please let me hear your thoughts. (via comment)

