Eighteen


Image by tacticianjenro

I can’t believe I’m turning 18 soon (on the 18th of February) and it’s already been a year since I graduated from high school. Time moves so fast….I’m just wondering if I’m using that time made out of gold right, that time which God has given to everyone of us.

What do I want for my 18th birthday?

Hmm…. I just want to relax, and not worry  about anything. I’ve been thinking a lot and, too be honest, really unfocused to which road I’m really taking… I just want to be with nature and commune with the trees and grass.

I also want to be able to truly want eternal life and not to get so accustomed with things here…if I could.

My life is fine, and I’m blessed by God, so, I thank Him for that – that I’m not like the other  teenagers who suffer so much just to have food to eat… or from not having anyone who would care for them. That’s why I want to be satisfied instead of to want more.

And thanks to you guys, who keep on reading my blog, and to those who find encouragement in my words/stories. If you would know me in person…you couldn’t really tell if I am a Christian. I screw up every now and then, and I feel guilty for that…

But that’s not how it is, right? It’s not our actions that identify us, nor how much we love Him, but it’s Jesus – who gives us our identity. It’s how He loves us.

7 thoughts on “Eighteen

  1. Isaiah 6 recounts the story of how the Prophet Isaiah was called to duty. He knew he wasn’t “clean” (holy) in accordance to hebrew law. Thus he says, ” ‘Woe to me!’ I cried. ‘I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.’ ” Then a heavenly creature touched a coal to his lips, making him pure for the mission he had ahead of him.

    Yes to serve God we must be clean, but it takes a lot of prayer, repentance and humility. But after that it’s important we don’t let Satan help beat us up over it.

    Isaiah couldn’t sit around after this and dwell on his previous sin. He had a job, commissioned by God, to do. The same goes for us: Repent, dust yourself off and get back on the horse (so to speak).

    If we concentrated on all our past mistakes, we’d never get anything done for God. His desire is for us to come to repentance and keep our eyes on HIm. Only by keeping our eyes on Him can we keep from slipping.

  2. CT says:

    You said “I just want to be with nature and commune with the trees and the grass”
    During the winter, I spent much time reading the word, going to church and classes at church. I was doing & trying & getting depressed. I was also looking to other people for my worth & comparing myself to others. Now I’m taking time for. walks in the woods/park. Though most people are there passing by me jogging or walking fast getting in their exercise, I’m delighted in just slowing down & relaxing. Just being me. I take in the smells, the sounds and delight in seeing the baby deer and other small animals. I sing, I contemplate & I have long talks w/Jesus. In a short 2 weeks, I have been much uplifted.
    I realize this was written some time ago but go ahead, get out & live in a way that uplifts you.
    Everyone is different. Do what’s right for you personally. Everyone is different and God accepts us as we are and where we are in our journey. .

    • Thank you for sharing your experience.. =) I am blessed by all your comments…especially how you said that everyone is different and God accepts us as we are and where we are in our journey…

      I am still often clueless about what I’d like to do though and I know I won’t be as effective as the others out there.

Please let me hear your thoughts. (via comment)

