The Best I Could Do


He lets out a sigh. He may be frustrated. He may be exasperated, but the truth he couldn’t come to face yet is the truth of how tired he has become.

So many challenges. So many things to get through just to live. It’s getting very tiring. I don’t know if I can make it. Could I? As years pass, I am growing older. I am growing weaker. And calculating all the methods, or looking towards the possible future at this state…I know it’s not going to be fine.

These are the thoughts that enter his mind. Thoughts that wind up – realities of failure and calculations of the limited distance that he could run to.

Once, he would smile. He would laugh. He would take on an optimistic attitude, and face life without worries, but…it doesn’t last long.

He sits…then and there…frustrated.

Must I dismiss these thoughts entirely?

Or must I keep up with the positive thoughts, even if I know the reality of my insufficiency?

I am insufficient. People could go saying things like “You can do it”, “Have courage”,  “Just believe in yourself,” …but I don’t find that works at all.

I could do my best, but my best would always never be enough for others.

I could do my best, but that’s all I could do… 

Why not look to God, despite of our weakness and insufficiency?

As 2 Corinthians 3:18 says,  “But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.”

Beholding means we focus our eyes on the Lord and who He is. We don’t focus on what we do, and how we should change ourselves. We don’t keep on doing…and striving…trying to reach the top and focusing on that.

We focus our eyes on the Lord. His goodness for us. His power for us. And how extremely loving He is to us.

He is powerful. He is loving. And He is always good.

The moment we find ourselves in the position of the guy in this story…. or when we focus much more on what we should do, than to God Himself. Then, we ought to shift our eyes. Then are we transformed from glory to glory… into His image.

I have been experiencing emotional setbacks these past days, that’s why I couldn’t seem to write in my blog that well. But a friend told me:

“No matter what you deal with, God makes a way out eventually…”

And I’d like to believe that. Even if as humans, it’s that “eventually” that is most bothering.

So, what’s the best that I could do? It is…to trust God.

He never lets go.

3 thoughts on “The Best I Could Do

  1. “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.
    We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption to sonship, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

    In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.

    And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

    —Romans 8:18-30

  2. You always seem able to strike a cord with me my friend. I know already that the Lord must be using you in my life and that of countless others. Continue to do what you do SINCE it has awesome value….. even if to just one person, and I know its gotta be more than just me. You are blessed.

Please let me hear your thoughts. (via comment)

