Childrens’ Shows and Me


There was this time in my life when I used to wake up early in the morning and watch Playhouse Disney when I was a kid. That was around…1999-2002. Shows like Bear in the Big Blue House, Rolie Polie Olie, and PB&J Otter got me open to the English language even in my young age. That’s one of the reasons why I’ve really embraced this language a lot, even as a Filipino.

Well, I really miss these childrens’ shows. It’s really shown me the brighter side of childhood, the fun and carefree side. You know, how Bear cleans up his house and how Olie solves the little hilarious problems that in the end becomes enlightening. How Neil Buchanan shares different traditional works of art and all those awesome Big Art Attacks. And Kipper the dog, trying hard looking for ways on how to cure his hiccups.

Those were educational, worryless times.

But as I grew older, things just got quite complicated. Things got messy. Things weren’t as bright and playful as it was back then for the kids.

I look around and see 12-year olds being trapped in infatuation. I see kids being bullied and stepped on morally. I see 8-year olds playing mature shooting games like Grand Theft Auto. Children getting engrossed in social media like Facebook, when they shouldn’t be yet…

I really wasn’t like that back then. It’s really sad because I know that a child’s environment in growing up, and how he is raised is a very important thing. And I am very blessed to have not been left uneducated by my parents.

It’s sad that the local TV stations here in our country rarely air any child-friendly and educational TV programs like how it was when I was younger. If there are, they are very limited.

As I have experienced, the innocence of being a child is like valuable treasure. It’s something that we could only experience during our childhood years.

Children should be free.

Children should have no worries.

As important as well would be, children should be taught how to trust and children should be loved.

Some of us may say, “they’re just kids” but…Jesus valued them, and said, “Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them…for to such belongs the kingdom of God.” (Luke 18:16)

Please let me hear your thoughts. (via comment)

